If you ever get injured in a car accident because of someone’s negligence or rash driving, you should consider filing a claim for compensation. That said, personal injury laws are inherently complex, and it is important to know the basic state laws, so that you don’t make a mistake that can impact the compensation you truly deserve. The good news is there are many law firms in Nevada, especially in LA, which can help with car accident claims and lawsuits. Some like Naqvi Accident Injury Law have attorneys who work on a contingency basis, which means they only get paid if they win a settlement for you. All that said, here is an overview of Nevada car accident laws.
Car Insurance Requirements
All car owners are required to have liability auto insurance. There is a minimum coverage requirement of $25,000 for bodily injury or death, $50,000 for total bodily injury or death, and $20,000 for property damage per accident.
Knowing the at-fault system
Nevada, like many other states, follow the fault system for auto accidents. This means that the person responsible for the accident can be held responsible for the damages and losses of the victim. If you, or a loved one get injured, you have three options. The first option is to file a claim with your insurance company. That way, you will get the due compensation in a short time, and when fault is established, the at-fault driver’s insurance company will pay your insurance company. The second and the most common option is to file the claim directly with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. If the settlement is low, or the insurance company rejects your claim, you can use the third option, which is filing a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
Statute of limitations
As in many states, there is a statute of limitations in Nevada, as well. If you want to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver, you have to do that within 2 years. The same 2-year deadline is applicable for wrongful death claims too. As for property damage, there is a time limit of 3 years.
Understanding the Nevada car accident laws may seem overwhelming, and it is in your best interest that you hire an attorney that you can trust. Let your lawyer take over and decide on the best possible course of action, so that you get the settlement that you deserve.